Welcome to BioBio

The Dept. of Biochemistry & Biophysics – where SEC means Size Exclusion Chromatography.

Genetics Graduate Students Received the Ethel Ashworth-Tsutsui Memorial Awards

Betty Cotton : November 25, 2014 10:54 am : BioBio News

FullSizeRender[1]On Wednesday, November 19, 2014 two of our genetics graduate students received the Ethel Ashworth-Tsutsui Memorial Awards.  Rachel Jordan (left) received the award for mentoring and is a graduate student in the department of biochemistry and biophysics under the direction of Dr. Mary Bryk.  Amanda Hulse-Kemp received the award in research and is a graduate student in the department of soil & crop sciences under the direction of Dr. David Stelly.   Each award recipient received a $500 check, a memorial plaque and a certificate of recognition at the conclusion of the 2014 Ethel Ashworth-Tsutsui Memorial Lecture given by Dr. Tarla Peterson from the department of wildlife and fisheries sciences.    Their research and mentoring efforts are much appreciated by their friends and colleagues in the department.  CONGRATULATIONS!


Four + One = FIVE Dean’s Oustanding Achievement Award Winners

Betty Cotton : September 18, 2014 11:04 am : BioBio News

On September 10, 2014 our department, along with a graduate student from the Genetics Program, received the Dean’s Outstanding Achievement Award. Recipients included:

Mr. Aaron T. Griffin-Undergraduate Student Research Award
Dr. Craig Kaplan-Early Career Research Award
Mr. Terry Lovingshimer-Staff Award
Dr. Gregory D. Reinhart-Administration Award
Ms. Amanda M. Hulse-Graduate Research Award (Dept. of Soil and Crop Sciences)

We know these dynamic five are truly deserving of this award and we are very proud of them for putting our department in the spotlight. For additional information follow this link: http://bit.ly/1p2GnkV


Amanda Hulse

Taylor R. Cole in the spotlight

Betty Cotton : September 2, 2014 2:27 pm : BioBio News


Taylor R. Cole, a graduate student in Dr. Tatyana Igumenova’s laboratory, has won a Student and Post-Doc Poster Award for her presentation “Characterization of the regulatory region of PKC isozymes by solution NMR” at the International Conference on Magnetic Resonance in Biological Systems (ICMRBS XXVI, August 24 – 29, 2014 – Dallas, Texas). Taylor’s poster was selected as one of the top 10 posters from a total of 300.  The award was funded by the Suraj P. Manrao Student Science Fund.

Congratulations to Taylor!